OF WILLIAM SARGENT Ladd’s namesake Portland buildings, only his Carriage House remains, now rehabilitated to an aesthetic state not seen since the Ladd family owned the building. In 1927, the Oregonian wrote, “the city’s restless hands are forever reaching out, removing, building, rearranging, to make room, more and more, for its growing activities.” While urban growth brought the demolition of the Ladd House in 1927, the “removing, building, and rearranging” of 2007 allowed for the preservation of the Ladd Carriage House.
Historic preservationist and developer, Art DeMuro, has stepped forward with an interest in purchasing Washington High School and redeveloping the building as a community center with market-rate housing. But it is too soon n the planning stage of the historic renovation project to call him its developer.
A multimedia art piece was unveiled on Oct. 8 at the White Stag Block to honor the legacy of the Naito family in Old Town Chinatown
Friends of Ladd Carriage House posted this 8-minute video on YouTube in October, 2008 as the historic structure makes it way down Columbia.
See the time lapse video of the move in July 2007 posted on YouTube by the Oregonian.
This video was originally posted on the Oregonian’s website on April 23, 2009.
It takes a lot of vision to see the potential in a space like this, but it has all the makings of a stunning adaptive reuse.
We’re excited about modernizing these unique spaces, while keeping all of the historic character and charm intact.
Behind the layers of paint and pegboard, there is a ton of historic character that is just waiting to shine.
Our next redevelopment project will involve returning this 1927 firehouse back to its former glory. The property is located in Portland’s Central Eastside Industrial District and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Watch for progress and photo updates to come!